About ANP

Definition and history of the National Ports Administration

The National Ports Administration (ANP) is a decentralized public body that reports to the Executive Branch through the Ministry of Transport and Public Works. It is responsible for the management, maintenance and development of the public ports: Montevideo, Nueva Palmira, Colonia, Juan Lacaze, Fray Bentos, Paysandú, Salto.

The National Administration of the Port of Montevideo (ANPM) was created on July 21st, 1916, as the highest Uruguayan port authority under Law No. 5495 (Section 11).

In the early 1930s, the ANPM assumed new duties when it absorbed all Uruguayan ports under its jurisdiction.

On March 30th, 1944, the foundation stone was placed in the premises delimited by the streets 25 de Agosto, Guaraní, Piedras and Maciel. The headquarters were inaugurated in 1949. A year before the construction works were completed, the National Administration of the Port of Montevideo changed its name to "National Ports Administration".

Law No. 5495 of 1916 was amended by the Ports Law No. 16246 of 1992, which defined the National Ports Administration as a decentralized service within the State's commercial and industrial domain, in coordination with the Ministry of Transport and Public Works. The legal instrument that changed the national ports system states that ANP is responsible for enforcing it, encouraging the decentralization of the Uruguayan ports, ensuring the coordination of the activities carried out in said ports and making sure the services are provided based on a free competition system.